1 2 3 4




27,830 Km2


9.201 Millions

HDI Rank

178 (over 186 countries)

Capital City

Bujumbura (population approx. 300,000). Other cities - Cibitoke, Rumonge, Nyanza-Lac, Muyinga, Ngozi, Bubanza, Gitega.

Demographic distribution

Hutu (Bantu) 85%, Tutsi (Hamitic) 14%, Twa (Pygmy) 1%, Europeans 3,000, South Asians 2,000

Spoken languages

Hutu 85%, Tutsi 14%, Twa 1%. Language(s): Kirundi (official), French (official), Swahili (along Lake Tanganyika and the Bujumbura area), English.

Religious beliefs

Christian 80% (Roman Catholic 65%-70%, Protestant 10%-15%, indigenous beliefs, Muslim less than 5%.

Political regime

National Council for the Defence of Democracy - Forces for the Defence of Democracy (CNDD -FDD), Burundi Democratic Front (FRODEBU), Unity for National Progress (UPRONA). National Council for the Defence of Democracy (CNDD-N), Union for Peace and Development (UPD), National Liberation Forces (FNL), Movement for Solidarity and Development (MSD).

Head of State

President Pierre Nkurunziza (CNDD-FDD)

Associations with International Organisations

African Union (AU), UN, Common Market of East and Southern Africa (COMESA), East African community (EAC).

Sources: Foreign & Commonwealth Office, The World Factbook

Back to Territorial presence of KSi Mauritius